Downy Woodpecker

One of my goals for 2008 is to pay more attention to the birds around me.  Today I saw this bird, a Downy Woodpecker, I believe, just outside my door in the woods behind the apartment building.  Tap, tap, tap (tappa, tappa, tappa), just that sound draws me into the trees for I know that some little avian fluffer must be there, busily excavating a bug or some sap.  According to this web site, Downy Woodpeckers nest in hollow tree branches.  What a cozy place to raise a little clutch of peepers!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    lani said,

    I’m fascinated by these little guys (and gals), too.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

