Something new in Somerset

According to Wikipedia, Somerset is a semi-new-urbanist development in Ames. Not sure why the “semi” got put in there. You can go here to read about New Urbanism if you are so inclined, but it has to do with “promoting walkable, neighborhood-based development as an alternative to sprawl” according to the Congress for new Urbanism. Personally, I think of Somerset as another mixed-use development in Ames, similar to West Towne. I go to Somerset to work out at the gym (I know, I know, not as often as I SHOULD!) and I LOVE their pool there. Many Ames-ites also love The Cafe, a cozy restaurant that features a good variety of locally grown, in-season foods. The last time I went to swim, I was surprised to see a large garden beside The Cafe and behind the gym. This new development in Somerset remains a mystery to me…whose garden??? Whoever the owner, I have to say I am IMPRESSED! We’ve had way more rain than usual around here and the most experienced farmers and gardeners are behind schedule, but this garden looks like it was willed into the ground by a pro! I’ll keep you up to date as the summer progresses!

A community garden in Somerset, Ames Iowa?

A community garden in Somerset, Ames Iowa?

The Cafe

The Cafe in Ames, IA features locally grown food on their menu!

The Cafe in Ames, IA features locally grown food on their menu!

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

