Christmas Excess

So I was saying that part of the appeal of Christmas (or any holiday or event) might be the process of getting ready, doing and using things out of the ordinary, and repeating rituals that are part of our identity.  But I am sure that most of us have experienced what happens when any of those things happens in “excess”, like too much…..WAY too much.  I love the idea of sending and receiving Christmas cards, but I can get myself into a whole pile of excess here!

  I think we’ve all had grand ideas of a party or dinner that turns into a marathon of preparation, dirty dishes and exhaustion.  My dear mother used to quietly bemoan the fact that a dinner took almost an hour to prepare and yet people ate and left the table in about ten or fifteen minutes.  So do we skip the dinner, parties and Christmas?  We know we SHOULD be able to rein it all in, simplify our lives, yadda yadda yadda, but I think it is easier said than done.

 

 

But we are intelligent beings, right?  I believe we just need to spend more time thinking about it, reflecting, talking….let’s acknowledge the elephant in the room and invite him into the discussion!  There is a lot of excess in our society, and it’s not a good thing.  But  I am not of the “bah humbug” mindset.  I just think we could be a lot smarter, more creative, and wind up being more joyful as a result.  In my next post I am going to talk about my crazy idea for reducing excess Christmas lights while also enjoying the twinkles in the darkness too.  If you are experiencing Christmas letdown, or even if you aren’t, let’s spend some time together thinking about some creative solutions that lead to a life that makes more sense.

 

Leave a Reply

