Growing in the Garden: Bunnies!

Soon after the gardening season got under way in the spring, I was watering the potatoes when I heard a very loud, hysterical squeal!  What the………..I had my guesses… so I got a long stick and started poking around in the straw.  Sure enough…bunny nest!  Well, I worried over the bunnies for several days, kept poking open the nest and half hoping it would cause the mother to move them away to a safer place.  I lay awake at night thinking of this year’s garden philosophy, working WITH nature, not against it.  And then I would dream about what wonderful compost bunnies might turn into…circle of life and all that!  Finally I decided to  just deal with it and let them alone.  I had visions of the whole family setting up their dining room in our garden, but one day I picked a couple of the little guys up and held them, and they jumped out of my hand and ran away.  The others followed, and I didn’t see them again!  Now the deer…..umm, that’s another story!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    lani said,

    We have a rabbit nest in our backyard that tends to get used over and over and over through the years. 🙂

  2. 2

    […] Animals can be a little annoying at times…they build dams near your dock, they have babies in your garden,  they eat all the bird food you just put out…. but they do what they were created to do, […]

  3. 3

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.

    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back
    in the future. I want to encourage that you continue your great
    writing, have a nice holiday weekend!

  4. 4

    I have read so many posts regarding the blogger lovers
    however this article is in fact a pleasant paragraph, keep it up.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

